Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Jennifer Lin Named Captain at Track and Field Banquet

Jennifer Lin Named Captain at Track and Field Banquet

May 14, 2008

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - The annual Yale women's track and field banquet took place Tuesday, March 13. The banquet, while positioned awkwardly in the season due to several Bulldogs qualifying for meets well beyond the Tuesday date, is traditionally a time for athletes and coaches alike to reflect on the season's results and outcomes. The meet is also used as a time to award varsity letters, special awards and, perhaps most significantly, elect a new captain to lead the Bulldogs next year.

After one decisive round of voting, standing captain Elizabeth Calle announced that junior Jennifer Lin will take up the reins of leadership as captain for the 2008-2009 track and field season.

Lin is the personification of the athleticism that it takes to be successful in track and field. A 400-hurdler by trade, the junior regularly competes in the pentathlon during the indoor track and field season. Her personal record, 3,386 points, achieved at the 2006 indoor Heptagonal championship (where she finished 4th), is currently the sixth best performance in the pentathlon in Yale history. Her personal best in the 400-hurdles, an impressive 62.79, was run at the 2006 outdoor Heptagonal championship her freshman year, where she ultimately finished 7th.

"I'm really excited to be elected captain, and I feel honored that the girls have put their confidence in me," Lin said, "I know this team has great potential, and I'm looking forward to next year."

The banquet is also the site at which three athletes are awarded with special awards. For the women, these are the Stroube Family award (awarded to the athlete that excels in sportsmanship, courage and inspiration), the Lee Calhoun award (awarded to the athlete that excels in sprinting and/or hurdling, an award given in memory of two-time Olympic gold medalist Lee Calhoun, who coached at Yale from 1975 until 1980) and the James Stack '61 award (awarded to the athlete that best personifies Jim Stack, the captain of the 1961 Yale men's track and field team that won the "big three" meet, the Heptagonal championship and IC4A championship). The awards were presented to seniors Meredith Leenhouts, Olakitan Awolesi and Lindsay Donaldson respectively.

The Yale women's track and field team will compete next at the ECAC championship, hosted at Princeton University on May 16, 17 and 18.

report by Ted Galligan '10, Yale Sports Publicity