Bulldogs Presented with Ivy League Trophy

Bulldogs Presented with Ivy League Trophy
Yale University President Peter Salovey addresses the Bulldogs and presents the team with the Ivy League Championship trophy.

Yale Captures Fifth Title in Six Years


NEW HAVEN, Conn. --Yale University President Peter Salovey, along with Yale Director of Athletics Tom Beckett, presented the Bulldogs with the 2013 Ivy League Championship trophy at John J. Lee Amphitheater on Thursday afternoon.    

The Bulldogs became the first team to punch a ticket to this year's NCAA Tournament after a win over Cornell last Saturday.  The conference title is Yale's fifth in the last six seasons.  

It is Yale's seventh overall title in volleyball and the sixth during the Erin Appleman head coaching era in New Haven.  Yale becomes the first team to win four consecutive League titles since regular season round robin play began in 1987 and only the second in Ivy League women's volleyball history.

Yale is just the second team in the round robin era to win three consecutive Ivy titles outright.

The Bulldogs (17-4, 11-1 Ivy) wrap up the Ivy League season this weekend at Princeton and Penn.  Yale defeated both teams in New Haven earlier this season.

Report filed by Ernie Bertothy, Yale Sports Publicity

View: Mobile | Desktop