Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Schmiede, Miller Share Nellie Pratt Elliot Award

Schmiede, Miller Share Nellie Pratt Elliot Award

Cross Country/Track And Fencing Stars Selected Yale's Top Female Athlete

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Frances Schmiede, one of the most decorated middle distance runners in the history of Yale women's track, and fencer Katherine Miller, an All-American who represented Brazil at the 2016 Olympics, are the recipients of the 2017 Nellie Pratt Elliot Award, the most prestigious athletic award given to a senior female at Yale. The award was presented at today's Class Day exercises.

The Nellie Pratt Elliot Award goes to the senior woman whose excellence in the field of athletics and in her life at Yale best represents the ideals of sportsmanship and Yale tradition. It is awarded in memory of Nellie Pratt Elliot, who was an assistant director of undergraduate admissions at Yale for 46 years.

Schmiede, a member of Pierson College and a Pymble, Australia native, was a two-time second team All-America selection in the indoor mile run. She is the Ivy League record holder in the 1,000 run and the Yale record holder in the mile, 1,500 and 1,000. Earlier this month, she won the Ivy League 1,500 outdoor championship to earn first team All-Ivy recognition. In February, she finished second in the 800 run at the Indoor Heptagonal Championship and qualified for the NCAA Championships for the second straight year.

In the fall, Schmiede captained the cross country team to a berth in the NCAA Championship for the first time in 15 years. She earned All-Ivy recognition for the second straight year by finishing seventh at the Heptagonal Championship. In addition, she is a two-time All-Northeast Region selection in cross country.

Schmiede, a political science major, has shined in the classroom as well. She earned Academic All-Ivy recognition in cross country this fall and in outdoor track last spring. She also is a three-time USTFCCCA All-Academic selection.

Miller, also a resident of Pierson College, earned second team All-America recognition this year after finishing eighth in the epee at the NCAA Championship. In her Yale career, she made three appearances at the NCAA Championship.

She took a leave of absence from Yale in 2015-16 to train with the Brazil national fencing team. She represented Brazil at the Junior World Championships, Senior Pan American Championships and Senior World Championships. In all, she fenced on four continents. At the 2016 Olympics in Rio she competed in the epee.

Miller earned second team All-Ivy recognition at Yale in 2014 and 2015. She served as team captain this year, guiding the Bulldogs to a 12th-place finish at the NCAA Championship.

Miller, a New York City native, is a global affairs major and a student fellow of the William F. Buckley Jr. Program. She earned Academic All-Ivy honors this winter.

All-Time Nellie Pratt Elliot Award Recipients

1976-77             Anne F. Keating                                                      Basketball/Field Hockey/Lacrosse

1977-78             Barbara A. Liebowitz                                            Basketball

1978-79             Mary C. Pew                                                            Crew

1979-80             Susanna E. Krentz                                                  Volleyball/Basketball

1980-81             Tracy Ball                                                                   Lacrosse

1981-82             Patricia A. Melton                                                 Track

1982-83             Sindee L. Simon                                                      Swimming

1983-84             Nicole W. Piasecki                                                 Lacrosse/Field Hockey

1984-85             Andrea P. Metkus                                                 Fencing

1985-86             Melissa Jane Buchan                                            Track

1986-87             Louisa Gerritz                                                          Track

1987-88             Kelly Groteke                                                          Cross Country 

1988-89             Sarah P. Smith                                                        Track/Cross Country

1989-90             Tonya Lawrence                                                    Basketball

1990-91             Kristine A. Campbell                                             Fencing

1991-92             Berkeley Belknap                                                  Squash

1992-93             Anne Lehman                                                         Field Hockey

1993-94             Tasha Taylor                                                            Gymnastics

1994-95             Mary Kalich                                                              Basketball

1995-96             Kellianne Bartlett                                                   Field Hockey/Softball

1996-97             Amanda Taft                                                            Softball

1997-98             Laurie Belliveau                                                      Women's Ice Hockey

1998-99             Rosanna "Rosie" Wustrack                                 Volleyball

1999-00             Heather R. Bentley                                               Lacrosse

2000-01             Meredith Bryarly                                                   Swimming and Diving

2001-02             Sarah Seung-Hee Seo                                          Golf

2002-03             Kate and Laura O'Neill                                         Track and Cross Country

2003-04             Elizabeth "Miles" Whitman                                Women's Lacrosse

2004-05             Sarah Driscoll                                                           Women's Lacrosse/Field Hockey

2005-06             Michelle Quibell                                                     Squash

                             Joslyn Woodard                                                     Track

2006-07             Rachel Jeffers                                                         Crew

2007-08             Lauren Taylor                                                          Lacrosse

2008-09             Christina Person                                                    Crew

2009-10             Susan Kim                                                                 Swimming

2010-11             Kate Grace                                                               Track

2011-12             Taylor Cramm                                                         Volleyball

2012-13             Elizabeth Epstein                                                   Tennis

2013-14             Kendall Polan                                                          Volleyball

2014-15             Mollie Rogers                                                          Volleyball

2015-16             Eva Fabian                                                                Swimming & Diving

2016-17             Frances Schmiede                                                 Cross Country/Track

                           & Katherine Miller                                                     Fencing

Report filed by Tim Bennett (, Yale Sports Publicity