Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

More Honors For Jones

James Jones (David Silverman photo)
James Jones (David Silverman photo)

Finalist For Jim Phelan, Hugh Durham, Ben Jobe And Skip Prosser Awards

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – has released the finalists for its annual coaching awards, and James Jones, The Joel E. Smilow, Class of 1954 Head Coach of the Bulldogs, is in the running for a number of the honors.

Jones, who guided Yale to the first NCAA Tournament victory in school history, is a finalist for the Jim Phelan, Hugh Durham, Ben Jobe and Skip Prosser Awards.

The Phelan award is presented annually to the top coach in division I men's basketball. The award is named in honor of Jim Phelan who coached his entire career at Mount Saint Mary's University. He led the Mountaineers to the 1962 NCAA Men's Division II Basketball Championship.

The Hugh Durham Award is presented annually to the nation's top mid-major coach. The award is named in honor of Hugh Durham who had retired at the end of the 2004-05 season. Durham is one of just twelve coaches to have led two different programs to the NCAA Final Four (Florida State in 1972 and Georgia in 1983).

The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in division I men's basketball. An icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Jobe is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons.

The Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well. Prosser passed away suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest. He posted a career record of 291-146 in 14 seasons as a head coach at Loyola, Xavier and Wake Forest. During his time at Wake, Prosser's teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in the Atlantic Coast Conference. is the latest organization to recognize the outstanding job turned in by Jones this year. He also was named the Ivy League Coach of the Year for the second straight year, was the United States Basketball Writer's Association District 1 Coach of the Year and NABC District 13 Coach of the Year.

Jones led Yale to 23 overall victories, the most in a season since the 1906-07 team went 30-7-1, a win over Baylor in the first round of the NCAA Tournament and a second straight Ivy title. In addition, the Bulldogs won 18 of their final 20 games and lost only twice in the calendar year 2016.

All of the winners will be announced on Monday April 4 in Houston, site of the men's NCAA Division I men's basketball championship.

Report filed by Tim Bennett (, Yale Sports Publicity