Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

AAE Names Jones Coach Of Year

Head Coach James Jones (Dave Silverman photo)
Head Coach James Jones (Dave Silverman photo)

Presented With Honor At Final Four In Houston

HOUSTON – The honors continue to come in for James Jones, The Joel E. Smilow, Class of 1954 Head Coach of the Yale men's Basketball team. Jones was selected as the Advocates For Athletic Equity Division I Coach of the Year. The presentation was made to Jones at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston as part of the Final Four festivities.

Jones guided the Bulldogs to a memorable 2015-16 season, including the first NCAA Tournament victory in school history. Yale won 23 games, the most in a season since the 1906-07 team went 30-7-1, upset Baylor in the first round of the NCAA Tournament and won a second straight Ivy title. In addition, the Bulldogs won 18 of their final 20 games and lost only twice in the calendar year 2016.

Jones, who already has been named the Ivy League Coach of the Year for the second straight year, the United States Basketball Writer's Association District 1 Coach of the Year and the NABC District 13 Coach of the Year, also is a finalist for the Jim Phelan, Hugh Durham, Ben Jobe and Skip Prosser Awards. Those awards will all be announced on Monday in Houston.

Report filed by Tim Bennett (, Yale Sports Publicity