Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Jones Wins Hugh Durham Award

Jones Wins Hugh Durham Award

CollegeInsider.Com Selects Jones Mid-Major Coach Of The Year

HOUSTON, Texas – An unforgettable season has earned James Jones, The Joel E. Smilow, Class of 1954 Head Coach of the Bulldogs, a significant honor. named Jones as the winner of the 2016 Hugh Durham Award, which is presented annually to the nation's top mid-major coach.

Jones led Yale to its first NCAA Tournament appearance in 54 years and the first NCAA Tournament victory in school history. The Bulldogs won 23 games, the most at Yale since the 1906-07 team finished 30-7-1, including a victory over Baylor during March Madness. In addition, Yale captured its second straight Ivy League title and won 18 of its final 20 games of the season.

Jones is one of the most successful coaches in Ivy League history. His 141 Ivy victories are tied with former Bulldog head coach Joe Vancisin for the third most in league history, and his 254 overall wins are the third most. In addition, Yale has a .592 winning percentage in league games during his tenure, by far the highest in school history.  Jones, the longest tenured coach in the Ivy League who completed in his 17th season in 2015-16, is the winningest coach in school history. 

The Durham Award is the latest in a long list of honors for Jones, who was named the Ivy League and NABC District 13 Coach of the Year for the second straight year, was selected as the United States Basketball Writer's Association District 1 Coach of the Year, and on Saturday, also in Houston, was presented with the Advocates For Athletic Equity Division I Coach of the Year Award.

The Durham Award is named for a legendary coach who spent eight seasons at Jacksonville University, where he became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools. 

He built national programs at Florida State where he holds the record for best winning percentage with a 230-95 (.708) record in 12 years. And at Georgia where he is also the all-time winningest coach in the 99-year history of the Bulldog program, having won 297 games in 17 seasons.

Report filed by Tim Bennett (, Yale Sports Publicity