Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale 1V, Gladstone Take IRA Honors

Joel Furtek '90 image
Joel Furtek '90 image

13 Elis Named to Academic Team


BOSTON, Mass. – The Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) announced the recipients of the regatta's post-season awards. The member coaches selected all three national champion crews and head coaches as the Crews and Coaches of the Year.


On the heavyweight side it was Yale's Varsity Eight and Craig W. Johnson '68 Head Coach Steve Gladstone taking home the honors, while the men's lightweight recognized Columbia's Varsity Eight and Nich Lee Parker. The Stanford Varsity Eight and Kate Bertko were honored by the women's lightweight contingent.


The Eli crew and coach swept the heavyweight awards after taking home gold for the second consecutive year in the Varsity Eight Grand Final at the National Championship on Mercer Lake.


Yale, which took its fourth straight Sprints a few weeks earlier, jumped out with a great start and held its position despite a strong push from the University of Washington over most of the 2,000-meter course. The Bulldogs crossed the line at 6:01:648 to earn the Varsity Challenge Cup, just the second for an Eastern boat since 2005.


For Gladstone, it was his third Coach of the Year nod in 2018 after being honored by his Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges (EARC) peers and fellow Ivy League Coaches in May. The win marks Gladstone's 13th IRA national title as a head coach.


According to the IRA, he now sits one national title shy of tying the record owned by Charles Courtney, who coached Cornell from 1883 to 1920 and won 14 national titles. However, when examining the details, you can see that Courtney's Big Red won multiple titles in one year. It is arguable that he should only be listed with 13, which means that the two Ivy legends would be tied for the most.


Gladstone and a mix of oarsmen from different Yale boats are in England preparing for the Royal Henley Regatta.


The IRA was busy this week. Its board of stewards announced the All-Academic Team for the 2017-18 academic year. To be eligible for recognition a student-athlete must have maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.35 or higher, completed a full year at their institution (freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible), be an institutional letter winner and also competed at the 2018 IRA National Championship Regatta.


Here are the Elis who qualified for that award:


Bryan DeVries

Edgar Staunton

Garth Holden

Kevin Kiernan

Leonard Jenkins

Magruder Dent

Paul Jacquot

Samuel Helms

Seth Bartlett

Sholto Carnegie

Thomas Digby

William Powers

Woods Connell




By Steve Conn, Yale Associate AD/Sports Publicity