Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yale Races in 179th Henley Royal Regatta

Yale Races in 179th Henley Royal Regatta

Racing Wednesday against Temple University 


HENLEY-ON-THAMES, England – Yale's Heavyweight Crew looks to continue its historic season when it crosses the pond for the 179th Henley Royal Regatta on the Thames River in England. Racing begins Wednesday, July 4, at 2 pm GMT (9 am EST). Racing spans from July 4 to July 8.


The Elis have entered an eight in the Temple Challenge Cup 8+ event. The Yale crew consists of oarsmen pulled from Yale's top three boats. Their first competitor is Temple University (USA).


The Henley Royal Regatta first began in 1839 over the course of a single afternoon. Today, the regatta has grown into one of the biggest and highest profile races in the world. For many oarsmen, racing at Henley is considered a great accomplishment and an honor. 


This year, there are 565 total entries including 111 international crews.


While the standard rowing course is 2k long, Henley, staying true to its roots, boasts a 2,112-meter course. Crews participating in this regatta dual against each other and must win every race to move on.


Yale's season leading up to this regatta has been remarkable. For the second year in a row, Yale won every championship race: Eastern Sprints, IRA National Championships, and the Yale-Harvard Regatta. 


Yale's most recent Henley victory was in 2015 when the Bulldogs beat out the reigning national champions, University of Washington, to win the Ladies' Challenge Plate.


Yale Crew Henley Royal Regatta Victories, courtesy Tom Weil '70

1979 Ladies' Challenge Plate 2V

1980 Ladies' Challenge Plate 2V

1996 Temple Challenge Cup 1F

2000 Temple Challenge Cup Lightweight 1V

2015 Ladies' Challenge Plate 1V


More information about the Regatta can be found on the official website here.

The 2018 Draw is located here.

A live stream can be accessed here.




Cox: Thomas Fant '19

8: Cole Tilden '18

7: Lucas Peilert '19

6: Angus Morrison '19

5: Bryan DeVries '18

4: Garth Holden '20

3: Daire Lynch '21

2: Kevin Kiernan '18

1: Jonathan Winter '20


By Izak Epstein '19, Sports Publicity Assistant. You can contact him at