Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Ierlan, Morrill Nominees for Tewaaraton

Nina Lindberg image
Nina Lindberg image

Juniors Among 25 in Running for 2019 Honor


WASHINGTON, D.C.  – Two juniors on the No. 4 ranked Yale Men's Lacrosse Team, Jackson Morrill and TD Ierlan, have been named nominees for the 2019 Tewaaraton Award, the most prestigious honor in the sport.


Morrill, who leads the team with 57 points after gathering 8 on Tuesday in a win over Quinnipiac, ranks ninth in the nation in assists per game while he is 15th in points. He was a second-team All-Ivy League pick in 2018 who earned NCAA Championship All-Tournament team honors. The 6-foot-1, 190-pound attackman is from Baltimore.


Ierlan, a 5-foot-9, 175-pound sparkplug from Victor, N.Y., played the last two years at Albany and last year set NCAA records for face-off success. He currently leads Division I in success on the X (.776) and ground balls (14.1) for the 10-2 Bulldogs, who play at Harvard Saturday afternoon.


Ben Reeves '18 was Yale's first Tewaaraton recipient after leading the Bulldogs to the 2018 NCAA Championship.


25 men's nominees:

Dox Aitken, Virginia - Jr., Midfield

Grant Ament, Penn State - Jr., Attack

Jared Bernhardt, Maryland - Jr., Attack

Daniel Bucaro, Georgetown - Sr., Attack

Bryan Costabile, Notre Dame - Jr., Midfield

JT Giles-Harris, Duke - Jr., Defense

Zach Goodrich, Towson - Sr., Midfield

Chris Gray, Boston University - Soph., Attack

TD Ierlan, Yale - Jr., Face Off

Michael Kraus, Virginia - Jr., Attack

Simon Mathias, Pennsylvania - Sr., Attack

Nick Mellen, Syracuse - Jr., Defense

Jackson Morrill, Yale - Jr., Attack

Asher Nolting, High Point - Soph., Attack

Mac O'Keefe, Penn State - Jr., Attack

Isaac Paparo, UMass - Sr., Defense

Brad Smith, Duke - Sr., Midfield

Michael Sowers, Princeton - Jr., Attack

Patrick Spencer, Loyola - Sr., Attack

Johnny Surdick, Army - Sr., Defense

Jeff Teat, Cornell - Jr., Attack

Ryan Terefenko, Ohio State - Jr., Midfield

Cade Van Raaphorst, Duke - Sr., Defense

Ethan Walker, Denver - Jr., Attack

Alex Woodall, Towson - Sr., Face Off




Contact: Steve Conn, Yale Athletics Communications –