Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Ierlan Finalist for Tewaaraton

Nina Lindberg image
Nina Lindberg image

FOGO Could Be Yale's 2nd Straight Recipient


WASHINGTON, D.C. – TD Ierlan, who leads the nation in face-off win percentage and ground balls, has been named one of five finalists for the 2019 Tewaaraton Award. The junior from Victor, N.Y., could become the second consecutive Yale Lacrosse player to receive the award.

The 19th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony is in Washington on May 30. The other finalists are Michael Sowers (Princeton, Jr., A), Grant Ament (Penn State, Jr., A), Jared Bernardt (Maryland, Jr. A) and Pat Spencer (Loyola, Sr. A). 

Ierlan set Division I records for face-off percentage (.791), face-off wins (359) and ground balls (254) as a sophomore at Albany last spring. The 5-foot-9, 175-pound former wrestler has won 79.4 percent (294 total) this year while scooping 214 (14.6 average) ground balls.

"Records come and go, but what I will remember is these guys [Yale teammates]," Ierlan said before the Ivy League Tournament when asked about individual honors. "If I go out and focus on my job, and we can play as a team, whatever [awards] comes along with it is extra."

The political science major in Pierson College established a single-game NCAA record for consecutive wins without a loss when he won all 26 at Harvard on April 27. Games like that, and his 25-for-31, 22-ground ball performance in a win over Penn State, this spring have helped the Bulldogs (12-3) get a No. 5 seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Ierlan and the defending national champions host Georgetown Saturday at 2:30 in the first round of the national tournament.

Ben Reeves '18, the captain of the 2018 national champs and the school's career leader in points, earned the Tewaaraton last spring, the first for a Yale player. He had been a finalist the previous two seasons, so this is the fourth consecutive year the Elis have had a student-athlete at the ceremony.







Contact: Steve Conn, Yale Athletics